The newbie-teacher resurfaces

After a very long hiatus, I’m back to my blog! Obviously, my life as a teacher didn’t leave me with much enthusiasm to pen down my thoughts. On most days, I just didn’t have the time or energy to blog. On other days, I didn’t think it fair to color my students in shades of unruly, incorrigible and undeserving – which is what went on in my frustrated head that was worn from using one classroom management technique after the other. That’s not to say they were all tiring bad days. There were good days- not days in which I had shiny happy perfect students, but days on which I wouldn’t judge them by their misbehavior alone.On those days, I’d be able to see hilarity, cuteness and wit in their disruptive fun and frolic, and begin to enjoy simply hanging out with them.

Now that my year with my 8th graders is over, I want to write about some the memories I have that will always remain with me. And through my posts, I hope you get a good look into the classroom of colourful characters that were my students.

The following posts will be published during the course of the next 2 months.
Happy reading! 🙂
(Names of my students have been changed)

Basheer – “I’m the teacher’s friend! Quit bugging her!” My dramaqueen
Naki – my lost cause (Good teachers shouldn’t say that..but with this one, I have no clue what can be done
Ali – his classroom is his vacation spot
Yasir – the one with his hand perpetually raised and the one with all the wrong answers
Abu – the cutest. the wittiest and the funniest – the one I haven’t been able to figure out
Salman – he’s got the hair, he’s got the looks, he’s got..swag.
Mission “Lets go get our teacher back”
The Hijab squad wants to pretty up their teacher
Teacher! Eyes on us!
The meanest I’ve been
Tauba Tauba
I see Red
Leave a Reply

