The Salmon meets her neighbors

Liebster AwardThis week, a fellow-blogger- Frankie, popped over and handed me the Leibster award. At first I thought “What is this? Is this a made-up award? Does this mean something good for me? Or are we just playing ‘Passing the Parcel’? “  But it’s Frankie who gave it to me..and I really like his blog, and thought “If Frankie thinks this award is nice, it must be nice.”  So, I thought about it, and a little research tells me that

– this award’s been in the blogging community since maybe 2010, (I could be wrong)

– the award is given by bloggers to up-and-coming bloggers

– Liebster means dearest or favourite in German. Isn’t that super sweet??

Mein leibster Blogger, here’s your Leibster. Gosh. So much love. 🙂

And after I mulled it over enough 🙂 I loved what dawned upon me : My neighbor just dropped in and gave me a ‘Welcome to the Neighborhood’ dish. I might not understand what this strange Leibster delicacy is, but I know it means something good- it means I’m now part of this blogging community 🙂

So, thank you, Frankie. Imma get busy and go give other bloggers some Liebster too!

To the bloggers I award the Lobster Leibster to- 

I release you from the obligation to pass it forward. This does take quite a bit of effort. I’m doing it cos I like the ‘friendly neighbor’ factor, and I have the time. 🙂 

OKAYY..SO there are conditions to this badge. Before I wear it, I have to

(a) Thank the blogger who gives it.

(b) Answer the eleven questions s/he asks.

(c) Nominate eleven bloggers with less than 500 followers.

(d) Ask these eleven bloggers eleven questions.

(e) Let these bloggers know that I have nominated them.

 

The questions Frankie has for me:

1. Tea or coffee?

Coffee. I like it milky and not too strong.

2. Best piece of advice you have ever been given?

Don’t wait around to follow your dreams. You’re never going to be 100% sure of the next step.

3. Which do you prefer Mountain or Beach?

 Beach. Gokarna is my favourite beach vacation spot in India. 

4. Biggest lie you ever bought?

Your parents always know what’s best for you. I don’t think I ever bought that completely, but I did think it might be true and that I was too young and dumb to know it. I don’t think that anymore. Even if I’m young and dumb, that’s still a lie. It’s true that parents don’t think kids know what’s best for them, but that doesn’t make the corollary true. Parents might SOMETIMES know what’s best for you, but not always.  

5. Your dream job?

One that lets me be creative. One that lets me make lives better. One that lets me sleep at night knowing I’ve done something worthwhile. I’ll let you know when I’ve found it.

6. Any phobia?

Not that I know of. I did live in fear of my diary being read. Once I thought my mum found my diary, so I tore out the pages and kept it in an envelope. And then I worried about having both the diary and the envelope found. That’s got to be a phobia, right? 

7. Favourite holiday memory, if any?

The excitement every year when we’d fly to Kerala to escape the blistering Middle-East summers. Flying excited me oh so much. And once we landed in Kerala I’d start the count-down to fly back.

8. Can you swim?

Yes. 

9. Apart from swimming, what should we all try to learn?

Self-defense. 

10. Do you have a pet?

Nope. I have a 2 year old niece and a 9 month old nephew, though. 🙂

11. Can you recommend an Author?

   I can recommend TWO! 🙂 Both are must-reads! You’ll thank me later. 

David Gregory RobertsShantaram

Markus ZusakThe Book Thief. 

 

And now I’ll take you around the neighborhood as I distribute some Liebsters to bloggers I’ve bumped into:

1. Shmruti @ Tales of my journey across oceans

2. Amy Cory @ Not a day over 45

3. Sharon @ WhereisShyamini

4. Rakhi @ Little Bliss Book

5. Elisa Kim @ Girl Growing Brighter

6. Meg @ Dear Crazy Kids

7. Suburban Princess Teacher

8. Calmgirl06 @ Tales of a Slightly Stressed Mother

9. Suzy @ The Airing Cupboard

10. Anne Rupert @ Call of the Wild Geese

and finallyyyy

11. My best friend @ The Otter in my Jotter

 

My 11 questions! 

1. Whether or not you believe in heaven, what do you imagine heaven should be like?

2. Would you rather live in a challenging city like..umm, Bombay OR a clean, user-friendly city like Abu Dhabi? (There’s not many places I’ve experienced in the world to name any others:) )

3. If you got to spend one day in someone else’s shoes, who would you choose to be?

4. What languages can you speak other than English?

5. What do you think of all-girls schools?

6. What physical feature of yours do you sometimes wish were a little different?

7. What did you like most about your favourite teacher?

8. If there was one thing you’d like your teachers to have done differently, what would it be?

9. If you were allowed one free-trip before you died, where would you choose to go?

10. What social injustice riles you up the most?

11. What’s your favourite type of blog-post?

 

And that brings me to the end of my neighborly post!

blog long and prosper

5 thoughts on “The Salmon meets her neighbors

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination Sara! And of course welcome to the blogging neighbourhood. I look forward to putting some thought into answering your questions. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I am officially a liebster Blogger ;) | TALES OF MY JOURNEYS ACROSS OCEANS

Leave a Reply

