Why ‘The Salmon Yatra’?

Alright, I’ve got to answer this since people have been asking (the people I excitedly informed, and also my imaginary ever-interested fan following)

So, going all encyclopaedia on you, here’s my answer (with soundtrack):

The salmon begins as a freshwater fish. As it grows, it journeys out to sea (singing A WHOLEE NEWW WORLDD..A NEW FANTASTIC POINT OF VIEWW..NO ONE TO TELL US NO..) and adapts to become a saltwater fish.

I can show you the world Shining, shimmering, splendid Tell me, princess, now when did you last let your heart decide?

I can show you the world
Shining, shimmering, splendid
Tell me, princess, now when did you last let your heart decide?

On reaching full maturity, they make the difficult journey back upstream (singing ‘The Climb’ by Miley Cyrus) against strong currents to reach the place where they were born.

Always gonna be an uphill battle, Sometimes I'm gonna have to lose Ain't about how fast I get there, Ain't about what's waiting on the other side It's the climbbbb

Always gonna be an uphill battle, Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there, Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climbbbb

 Once they get back to their natal stream, they breed and lay their eggs. After spawning they generally die within a week, fertilizing the stream and creating a nutrient-rich environment for the new infant salmon that are about to hatch.

yatra khatam

Yatra khatam

Yatra is a Sanskrit word that means ‘journey’. To traditional Hindus, the journey itself is as important as the destination, and the hardships of travel serve as an act of devotion in themselves.

So, I am obviously the salmon here..at least an aspiring salmon because you see how there’s something very inspirational about the fish, don’t you? And just so no one goes and takes me literally, my current aspiration is not to breed or to die for a greater cause.

Now if any more reason is needed for choosing ‘The Salmon Yatra’ it’s that I just really liked it after the above sense-making and then I drew that little pink fish you see on the top, and it won me over and now it’s all there to stay. Ta.Dah.

3 thoughts on “Why ‘The Salmon Yatra’?

Leave a Reply

