Sex & Cash Theory

As the previous post indicated- it means I’m going back to my job as an engineer, but this time around it feels different, and I feel excited about it- hope that lasts. But a lot will have to change- my perspective for one, has already changed. And I’ll let change keep happening until I feel all snug and happy (happiness is relative in an IT company) in a certain role. And I’ll use my earnings for my art and other stuff*. And one day in the future I’ll quit my job and have a little business of my own? Maybe:) Yea so I’m quick to build castles in the air..I’m yet to figure out a lot of things..and it’s all alright. See what Henry David Thoreau says >

“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.”

Corporate employee by day, Creative by night

* There’s something I found over at Hugh Macleod’s blog that resonates with my line of thought- The Sex & Cash theory. Here’s a snippet:

“The crea­tive per­son basi­cally has two kinds of jobs: One is the sexy, crea­tive kind. Second is the kind that pays the bills.

And I’ve grown to trea­sure the dua­lity. Every time I’ve  tried to per­ma­nently wear just one hat,  the per­so­nal hat or the busi­ness hat, I get bored silly within a week. The work seems to need the cons­tant dia­lo­gue bet­ween the inner and outer.

Fin­ding that sweet spot where that never-ending dia­lo­gue can exist hap­pily fore­ver, is one of THE great tasks (and gifts) our brief life gives us.”

Leave a Reply

