A Caricature Wedding Invitation Card

The wedding invitation card I’ve been working on for some time now is finally ready and tailored down to meet exactly what my cousin and his fiance wanted.

So here it is!

-They wanted it to be a Kerala themed wedding card so what u see on the front is the couple in modified Keralaite fisher-folk clothing and a fishing boat and coconut trees. [For the non-Indians out there- Mallu is the shortened form of Malayalee, and a Malayalee [aka Keralite] is to Kerala what an American is to America.]

 

-And this is the inside of the card. The black figures are drummers hired to play at certain traditional festivals in Kerala. The call-outs are in Malayalam so that you can enjoy the sound of the language on your tongue if it’s new to you:) The last drummer has left his drum to help carry the ‘villaku’ – which is a golden lamp with oil and wicks that are lit when occasions are inaugrated.

And the blank space in the end is for the couple to write their personal note to the guest. [ and i couldn’t put my pretty striped background cos Photoshop keeps crashing now cos I’m using poor girl’s laptop- that’s what I tell myself- but maybe its cos I dont know how to clear enough space on C everytime it magically and ANNOYINGLY gets so full it leaves .2 MB free. My C drive is possessed.]

 

It was an enjoyable process when I try to leave out all the hard bits 🙂 – like the low days where u want to do nothing but waste away in all uselessness and your brain allows no good idea to surface..and the days when u spend just scrapping one good idea after another because it doesn’t allow for 1 of the 10 requirements that need to be met. It’s been a good taste of what working as a designer would be like. Though I think I had clients that cared more about me than themselves and that clients who aren’t family are going to be driving me nuts with lack of what I consider good creative sense and worse- changing requirement.

But I’ve realised that the best part of working on a project is the end when you see everything FINALLY falling into place. And the satisfaction of seeing the end product as you’d like it, with nothing left to add or take away- makes it all worth it.

6 thoughts on “A Caricature Wedding Invitation Card

  1. This is really good! 🙂 Tip for those trees. If you have them on a separate layer in PS, go to layer blending options and do an inner stroke (black). It would get rid of the white stuff around the leaves.

    • Oh. does something look wrong about the trees? cos the white stuff is supposed to be moonlight on the trees. Though I think one lower leaf neednt have it.

      • Ah, I didn’t realise it was meant to be moonlight. Looked like a bad selection to me. If it’s moonlight, yes it makes sense.. looks good 🙂

Leave a Reply

